who is Kevin Johnson?

If you are having problems read these topics.

Moderators: Admin, ChallengeLee, Matt14

who is Kevin Johnson?

Postby steve on Tue Aug 25, 2009 2:04 pm

Regarding the forum admins mail out, i believe i have had an email from Kevin Johnson recently about another forum. Does anyone know Kevin Johnson's user name or is it just Kevin Johnson? if you have no user by this name it's possible it's just some wierdo/troll or bot sending emails automatically.
steve
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 7:18 pm

Postby Scolers on Tue Aug 25, 2009 4:09 pm

I thought it was admin letting us know of repairs being carried out on this forum. Perhaps admin can let us know if it was legit?

Scol.
User avatar
Scolers
Member
Member
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 1:17 pm
Location: Fraser Coast

Postby steve on Tue Aug 25, 2009 4:36 pm

Did you get the second email regarding Kevin complaining about the website? Kevins email to the host is included, and is a very general comment and typical of bots etc.
steve
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 7:18 pm

Postby Admin on Tue Aug 25, 2009 7:30 pm

Hello guys. I sent this email out today to explain why the main website has been down for the last month. Kevin Is just the support guy from freehostia which is the people who our website is hosted through. That part which he states is the reply I received when inquiring why our site has been suspended. A member on here has sent an email to them claiming there is vulgar advertising and that they are getting spam emails etc. The email you received explains what was said in the complaint.
I just wish if someone has a complaint they would take it up with us first. The complaint said they were receiving spam emails about topics also. These emails are the ones letting you know of replies to posts. If you don't want to get them members only have to de-select this option in their profile. This member would have been told this if they bothered to ask.
Silly complaints like this are damaging to the site and can have it closed down for no reason. Our hosts have browsed our site after I contacted them and have since realized the complaint was a load of crap.
This affects all members when someone puts forward a false complaint. If we have any more dramas like this I will just close the site down as we don't need people like this stuffing things up for everyone else.
I hope this helps you guys understand what is going on.
Cheers Admin
Check out our website @ www.caravanand4wd.com
Admin
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Melbourne

Postby Revhead Kev on Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:33 pm

Hi Admin,

Seriously, don't even think of pulling the forum down.
I have had someone on another forum continually post defamatory and annoying posts just to stir trouble, so he was banned.

If the problem is the "spam emails" from a possible posts notification being checked in their user profile, can we not have this unchecked by default when new members create a login ?
Would solve the potential problem for unsavy new members at the start.
User avatar
Revhead Kev
Member
Member
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 11:51 am
Location: Sydney, NSW

Postby Scolers on Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:59 am

I don't believe it ... a small forum like this receiving complaints.

The mind boggles ... or what's left of it after smacking my head against the wall ... :roll:

Keep up the good work admin!

8)

Scol.
User avatar
Scolers
Member
Member
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 1:17 pm
Location: Fraser Coast

Re: who is Kevin Johnson?

Postby freerocketman on Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:31 pm

i think the person who made the report was the ass whole who said in the chat room he was going to take this site down, & he was more than likely the 1 who was the cause for the vires :evil:
freerocketman
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 10:29 pm
Location: mt gravatt
Highscores: 4

Re: who is Kevin Johnson?

Postby Admin on Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:43 pm

Whats this about a Virus?
Check out our website @ www.caravanand4wd.com
Admin
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: who is Kevin Johnson?

Postby freerocketman on Sun Sep 06, 2009 8:59 am

Admin wrote:Whats this about a Virus?



isn't that what ended up beeing the problem with the main page? :oops:
freerocketman
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 10:29 pm
Location: mt gravatt
Highscores: 4

Re: who is Kevin Johnson?

Postby Admin on Sun Sep 06, 2009 10:45 am

No it wasn't. I sent you an email explaining about why the main page was shut down. It is all explained in there . If your email address is correct then you should have received it. Also I have explained it very briefly in a couple of posts back up in this topic.
Cheers
Check out our website @ www.caravanand4wd.com
Admin
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Melbourne


Return to Forum help and feedback section


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests